The Society

The Society

The Society (or more fully, The Society under the patronage of Saint Wilfrid and Saint Hilda) is an ecclesial body made up of Bishops, Priests, Deacons, Religious, Laity and Parishes, led by a Council of Bishops, and formed for particular purposes:

  • to promote and maintain catholic teaching and practice within the Church of England
  • to provide episcopal oversight to which churches, institutions and individuals will freely submit themselves
  • to guarantee a ministry in the historic apostolic succession in which they can have confidence

As an ecclesial body, The Society is episcopally led by a Council of Bishops, one of whom is our Provincial Episcopal Visitor, the Right Revd Norman Banks SSC, Bishop of Richborough.

Each Diocese has a Bishop’s Representative who acts on behalf of the respective Society Bishop in an Anglican Diocese, and who also represents the Society parishes. The Bishop of Richborough’s Representative in the south of the Diocese of Lincoln is Fr Edward Martin SSC.

As a Parish of The Society we enjoy a relationship of full communion not only with our Bishop but also with all the other Parishes of The Society. We achieved this by passing the resolution under the House of Bishops’ Declaration, ensuring our commitment to both the aims of The Society and to remain in full communion with those others of its ecclesial body.

For more information about the Society, visit their website!